Warning: include(../includes/rheader.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 4 Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/rheader.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/local/data/www/php:/usr/share/pear:/usr/share/php') in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 4 Warning: include(../includes/rkeyl.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 5 Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/rkeyl.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/local/data/www/php:/usr/share/pear:/usr/share/php') in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 5

Kick Off Meeting 21st & 22nd January 2003

A 'Kick Off" Meeting was held on Tuesday & Wednesday 21st and 22nd January 2003 at Scarman House, Warwick University Conference Centre.

Meeting Objectives:

The 'kick-off' meeting is an opportunity for RAPID researchers to meet each other and the RAPID Steering Committee, and to exchange ideas and information. The objectives of the meeting are:

  • To allow researchers to meet and exchange information on their projects
  • To contribute to the development of the thematic nature of the RAPID programme
  • To encourage the development of a UK RAPID community
  • To further develop international collaboration

Details of the meeting are below, including links to the presentations given at the meeting:

Agenda and Presentations

Tuesday 21st January 2002

11.00 - 11.30 Registration and coffee
11.30 - 11.45 Welcome and domestic arrangements Meric Srokosz / Catrin Yeomans
11.45 - 12.15 RAPID - an introduction Meric Srokosz
12.15 - 13.00 Keynote: Rapid climate change - integrating palaeo, modelling and present day observations Lloyd Keigwin
13.00 - 14.15 Lunch
14.15 - 14.30 The Role of Air-Sea Forcing in Causing Rapid Changes in the North Atlantic Thermohaline Circulation Simon Josey
14.30 - 14.45 The determination of heat transfer and storage, and their changes in the North Atlantic Ocean Neil Wells
14.45 - 15.00 The atmospheric water vapour budget and its relevance to the THC Brian Hoskins
15.00 - 15.15 Atlantic Seaboard Climate Responses including Bounding Errors (ASCRIBE) Ian Fairchild
15.15 - 15.30 ISOMAP UK: a combined data-modelling investigation of water isotopes and their interpretation during rapid climate change events Jonathan Holmes
15.30 - 16.00 Tea / coffee
16.00 - 16.45 Keynote: Rapid climate change - the NOClim programme Harald Loeng
16.45 - 17.00 Circulation, overflow, and deep convection studies in the Nordic Seas using tracers and models David Stevens
17.00 - 17.15 Processes controlling dense water formation and transport on Arctic continental shelves Andrew Willmott
17.15 - 17.30 Hydrographic and flow changes at sharp climate transitions in the North Atlantic MOC, 0-16ka BP Nick McCave
17.30 - 17.45 Cape Farewell and Eirik Ridge: Interannual to Millennial Thermohaline Circulation Variability Sheldon Bacon
17.45 - 18.00 Quantitative applications of high-resolution late Holocene proxy data sets: estimating climate sensitivity and thermohaline circulation influences Tim Osborn
20.00 Dinner
Wednesday 22nd January 2003
09.00 - 09.45 Keynote: Rapid climate change - a CLIVAR perspective Martin Visbeck
09.45 - 10.00 A monitoring array along the western margin of the Atlantic Chris Hughes1
10.00 - 10.15 Investigating the Characteristics and Consequences of Interannual Variations in the Northwest Atlantic's Deep Western Boundary Current John Toole 2
10.15 - 10.30 The role of sloping topography in the overturning circulation of the North Atlantic Ric Williams
10.30 - 10.45 Monitoring the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation at 26.5 degN Jochem Marotzke 1
10.45 - 11.00 An Observing System for Meridional Heat Transport Variability in the Subtropical North Atlantic Bill Johns 2
11.00 - 11.10 Rapid Climate Change - the Netherlands programme Hendrik van Aken
11.10 - 11.30 Tea / coffee
11.30 - 11.45 Time series of transient tracers in North Atlantic deep waters Jean-Claude Gascard, Marie-Jose Messias1
11.45 - 12.00 The Oleander Project: Sustained Observation of Ocean Currents and Transports in the Gulf Stream and Adjacent Waters from New York to Bermuda Tom Rossby2
12.00 - 12.15 Extending the time series of Atlantic Meridional Overturning backwards in time using historical measurements Harry Bryden
12.15 - 12.30 The role of salinity in ocean circulation and climate response to greenhouse gas forcing Eric Guilyardi
12.30 - 12.45 The role of the cryosphere in modulating the thermohaline circulation of the North Atlantic Jonathan Bamber
12.45 - 13.00 High resolution anatomy of rapid climate transitions in the last glacial period from a Greenland ice core Eric Wolff
13.00 - 14.15 Lunch
14.15 - 14.45 Keynote: Rapid climate change - an "end-user" perspective Mike Hulme
14.45 - 15.00 Improving our ability to predict rapid changes in the El Nino Southern Oscillation climatic phenomenon Sandy Tudhope
15.00 - 15.15 The Probability of Rapid Climate Change Peter Challenor
15.15 - 15.30 RAPID - next steps Meric Srokosz
15.30 Tea / coffee & end of meeting
List of Delegates
Name Affiliation E-Mail
Dr Tim Atkinson University College London t.atkinson@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Sheldon Bacon Southampton Oceanography Centre hb@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Bamber Bristol University j.l.bamber@
bristol.ac.uk
Dr Juan Brown Bidston Observatory jbrown@bodc.ac.uk
Prof Harry Bryden Southampton Oceanography Centre h.bryden@
soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Carse NERC f.carse@nerc.ac.uk
Dr Xavier Carton Ifremer xcarton@ifremer.fr
Mr Peter Challenor Southampton Oceanography Centre P.Challenor@
soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Mat Collins Reading University matcollins@
met.rdg.ac.uk
Dr David Cromwell Southampton Oceanography Centre ddc@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Cunningham Southampton Oceanography Centre scu@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Cassiono De Oliveira Imperial College c.oliveira@ic.ac.uk
Ms Anne De Rudder Rutherford Appleton Laboratory a.de.rudder@rl.ac.uk
Dr Kathy Donohue University of Rhode Island kdonohue@
gso.uri.edu
Prof Ian Fairchild Keele University I.j.fairchild@
keele.ac.uk
Dr Charles Flagg Brookhaven National Laboratory flagg@bnl.gov
Mr Peter Foden Bidston Observatory prf@pol.ac.uk
Prof Antony Goddard Imperial College a.goddard@ic.ac.uk
Dr Christine Gommenginger Southampton Oceanography Centre cg1@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Grist Southampton Oceanography Centre jyg@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Eric Guilyardi Reading University Ericg@met.rdg.ac.uk
Dr Ian Hall Cardiff Univeristy Hall@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Chris Hawkesworth Bristol University c.j.hawkesworth@
bristol.ac.uk
Dr Joel Hirschi Southampton Oceanography Centre jjmh@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Holmes University College London j.holmes@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Jason Holt Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory jholt@pol.ac.uk
Dr Richenda Houseago-Stokes Southampton Oceanography Centre ryh@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Chris Hughes Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory cwh@pol.ac.uk
Prof Mike Hulme Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research m.hulme@uea.ac.uk
Dr John Huthnance Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory jmh@pol.ac.uk
Prof Bill Johns University of Miami wjohns@
rsmas.miami.edu
Dr Simon Josey Southampton Oceanography Centre Simon.A.Josey@
soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Lloyd Keigwin Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute lkeigwin@whoi.edu
Harald Loeng Institute of Marine Research, Norway harald.loeng@imr.no
Prof Jochem Marotzke Southampton Oceanography Centre Jochem.Marotzke@
soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr David Marshall Reading University d.p.marshall@
reading.ac.uk
Dr Cecilie Mauritzen Norwegian Meteorological Institute cecilie.mauritzen
@met.no
Prof Nicholas McCave Cambridge University mccave@
esc.cam.ac.uk
Dr Philip Newton NERC ppn@nerc.ac.uk
Dr Maria Noguer DEFRA maria.noguer@
defra.gsi.gov.uk
Dr Tim Osborn University of East Anglia t.osborn@uea.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Pain Imperial College c.pain@ic.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Piggott Imperial College m.d.piggott@ic.ac.uk
Dr H Thomas Rossby University of Rhode Island trossby@gso.uri.edu
Dr Jonathan Rougier Durham University j.c.rougier@
durham.ac.uk
Dr Vassil Roussenov Liverpool University v.roussenov
@liv.ac.uk
Prof Julian Slingo Reading University j.m.slingo@
reading.ac.uk
Dr Meric Srokosz Southampton Oceanography Centre mas@soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr David Stevens University of East Anglia D.Stevens@uea.ac.uk
Prof Alayne Street-Perrott University of Wales, Swansea f.a.street-perrott@
swansea.ac.uk
Dr Rowan Sutton Reading University R.Sutton@
reading.ac.uk
Dr Simon Tett Met Office Simon.tett@
metoffice.com
Dr John Toole Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute jtoole@whoi.edu
Dr Sandy Tudhope Edinburgh University sandy.tudhope@
ed.ac.uk
Dr Hendrik van Aken Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research aken@noiz.nl
Dr John Vassie Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory imv@pol.ac.uk
Dr Martin Visbeck Columbia University visbeck@
ldeo.columbia.edu
Dr Neil Wells Southampton Oceanography Centre ncw@
soc.soton.ac.uk
Dr Ric Williams Liverpool University RIC@LIV.AC.UK
Prof Andrew Willmott Keele University a.j.willmott@
keele.ac.uk
Dr Eric Wolff British Antarctic Survey ewwo@bas.ac.uk
Dr Richard Wood Met Office Richard.wood@
metoffice.com
Dr Catrin Yeomans NERC cvy@nerc.ac.uk
Warning: include(../includes/rfooter.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 599 Warning: include(): Failed opening '../includes/rfooter.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/local/data/www/php:/usr/share/pear:/usr/share/php') in /local/data/www/htdocs/rapid/rapid/kickoffmeeting2003.php on line 599